How it came to this..

I think the first time I realised I was being lied to was at college… even though it most likely started well before that.

I was sat in my careers meeting with a straw haired goofy woman id never met before ‘advising’ me what career path was best for me. I’m sure we have all been in this meeting, and I’m we all were given the same answer, which has to make you question the authenticity of the answer.. Study hard, achieve good grades, be accepted into university and be rewarded with a 9 till 5 job that enables you to live just comfortably enough. I was being advised to ‘play the game.’ And was becoming what the Japanese call a “Sararīman” (Salaryman). 

So it was then that I realised that not, what I wanted my career path to be but what I didn’t want it to be. I left that career meeting knowing I wanted my life to be made of more.

Not knowing exactly what it was that I wanted to achieve, be or do in life however I carried along that beaten, well trodden path that only ever leads to a silver watch at 65 years old beset of life and ambition. But with one grand idea, eventually I will start a business!

In reality, however all I was looking to achieve by doing this, was to have a larger, slightly more tasty section of the same pie. I was still doomed to 40+hours a week, (in reality it would be more like 80+hours) watching the slow office dance to the photocopier and back. I was still playing the game. The reward here however was to eventually be able to retire to a tropical island early. That’s if it all went wonderfully to plan, without a hiccup and the back to back 80 hour weeks didn’t burn me out like a stolen Vauxhall Corsa on a Liverpool council estate first. Still… what other choice do I have

I think most people will be familiar with this feeling of having to choose the lesser of two evils. It leaves me thinking, where did the idea of having to chose an ‘evil’ come from anyway?

So this blog follows my journey to find a new way of thinking and a new way of living. It follows my journey of DatsuSara (the death of the salaryman).

One thought on “How it came to this..

Leave a Reply

